移民博客

MD 移民律师

*下面的结果可能不会在每个单独的情况下发生。

6月,2018

2018年XNUMX月

2016年十一月

5月,2016

  • 国务院撤销 DUI/DWI 逮捕的非移民持有人的签证

我们了解到,对于以非移民身份合法居留的非公民,例如 F-1 学生、H-1B 工作人员,甚至 B-2 访客和被 DUI/DWI 指控或逮捕。 这是我们学到的:

  • 最近,在许多情况下,国务院签证办公室撤销了因酒后驾车 / DWI 犯罪被捕或被指控的个人的非移民签证(请注意,仅对酒驾 / DWI 犯罪的指控或逮捕本身就足以撤销签证,因此可以取消指控,但在最终处置之前仍然可以撤销签证)那些实际居住在美国的人这是通过直接从美国国务院签证审查办公室写信给非移民来完成的。和协调。
  • 每当个人返回国外领事馆以续签非移民签证时,国外的领事官员同样会严格审查在美国被指控犯有酒驾/酒后驾车罪的个人。
  • 在这两种情况下,撤销的理由是潜在的签证不合格,理由是可能的身体或精神障碍以及相关的有害行为(移民和国籍法第 212(a)(1)(A)(iii) 条) ) 并且一旦他们需要重新申请新签证,他们将需要被转介给专科医生以获得新的医疗证明,以便他们重新签发签证以重新入境。

鉴于上述情况,因 DUI/DWI 犯罪而在美国持有效非移民签证(例如 B-1/B2、F-1、F-2、H-1B、H-2B、H- 4、G签证、L签证等)应注意:

  • 仅仅因为 DUI/DWI 指控而被捕,就有可能被撤销签证。
  • 虽然仅仅撤销签证并不一定意味着个人将失去身份或受到驱逐程序的影响,但这可能意味着一旦他们离开,他们将需要重新申请新的签证,并且可能必须经历重新签发签证前的额外体检证明。
  • 建议非移民签证持有人在 DUI/DWI 被捕后不要旅行,除非绝对必要,而案件正在审理中。

以上不适用于我们的永久居民客户或绿卡持有人。
请联系我们 移民律师, Himedes Chicas,有任何问题请拨打 202.384.2647。

2015 月,XNUMX

  • 撤销缺席令的动议,并重新启动为逃离迫害的母亲和年轻男孩授予的诉讼程序。

奇卡斯律师成功地重新启动了对一名母亲和她的两个年幼孩子的驱逐程序,此前迈阿密的一名移民法官曾缺席下令将他们驱逐。 Chicas 先生的客户——一位危地马拉的两个孩子的母亲,以及她的两个分别 2 岁和 6 岁的儿子——在她的丈夫被我的 MS-13 帮派成员残忍杀害后从危地马拉逃往美国。 在她从危地马拉危险的旅行之后,Chicas 律师的客户被移民官员拘留在边境,并收到了出庭通知,正式启动了对他们的驱逐程序。 母亲和孩子随后在他们自己的承认下被释放并搬迁到佛罗里达州迈阿密地区。 在获得搬迁到巴尔的摩地区的许可并提交地址变更申请后,他的客户在佛罗里达州迈阿密当地的国土安全部办公室搬迁到了 Hyattsville 地区。 作为无人代理的客户错误地认为她的案件会自动从迈阿密移民法院转移到巴尔的摩移民法院。 搬到马里兰州几个月后,她和她的孩子们出现在巴尔的摩移民法院的听证会上,却发现她的案件实际上安排在迈阿密。 当客户被告知她和她的孩子被缺席命令带走时,她感到震惊和困惑。 客户随后咨询了 Chicas 律师。 Chicas 律师试图撤销缺席驱逐令,并根据特殊情况提出重新审理的动议,重新审理其客户的案件,这些情况阻止她和孩子们在迈阿密出席听证会。 在提交客户的动议后不久,迈阿密的移民法官批准了动议,撤销了他们的缺席驱逐令并重新启动诉讼程序,并将此事重新安排在案卷上。 奇卡斯律师随后出席了客户在迈阿密举行的听证会,并成功将案件地点移至巴尔的摩。 Chicas 律师的客户现在正在等待他们的案件进行听证,以寻求庇护和相关救济。

2015 月,XNUMX

  • 因面临复职的母亲和她 XNUMX 岁的女儿而在行政上关闭的诉讼程序。

Himedes Chicas 律师在为他的委托人、一名危地马拉国民和她十二岁的女儿的案件中胜诉,该委托人需要恢复先前的遣返令。 在客户被发现有理由担心受到庇护办公室的迫害后,根据监管令将其从移民拘留所释放,她的案件被提交给移民法院,以进行有限的暂缓诉讼。 奇卡斯律师辩称,他的委托人过去曾遭受过迫害,如果她被转移到危地马拉,将来很有可能遭受迫害和酷刑。 事实上,Chicas 律师的委托人曾遭受家庭成员的极端迫害和虐待,经过心理治疗后,确定他的委托人患有创伤后应激障碍。 尽管文件证据不足,但在个人听证会上,国土安全部 (DHS) 同意,根据过去和未来迫害和其他权益的基本事实,客户的案件属于低优先级案件,国土安全部同意行使通过对母亲和女儿的行政结案,有利的起诉裁量权。 尽管她的预扣索赔的案情没有得到移民法院的裁决,但行政关闭的结果至少可以确保客户和她的女儿都不会被驱逐出境。 此外,如果她的遣返案件被重新日历(重新启动),她将能够提出该索赔,那么她的预扣索赔仍然悬而未决。

2015 月,XNUMX

  • 七个月后,尼加拉瓜国民与妻儿团聚。

在已经被移民拘留几个月并聘请了先前的律师之后,客户的妻子向 Chicas 律师咨询了她的丈夫,她是一名合法的永久居民,在杜勒斯国际机场接受延期检查后被拘留,在那里确定他由于近 15 年的刑事定罪,涉及道德败坏的犯罪而不予受理。 鉴于案件的情况和客户的监禁,Chicas 律师专注于为客户获得免于驱逐的救济。 在大约两个月的时间里,Chicas 律师努力收集证据,提交书面摘要,并准备证人所需的证人,以证明他的客户的美国公民妻子、孩子和母亲如果被转移到他的家乡尼加拉瓜将会遭受的苦难。 在长达四个半小时的个人听证会上,Chicas 律师讨论了为什么他的客户应该因其豁免而获得有利裁决的原因(包括法定资格),其中他讨论了客户的商业资产、他在美国的广泛家庭关系以及他的家人忍受着与健康有关的困难,最重要的是他的孩子会遭受的伤害。 在作证结束时,移民法官表示,他必须全面审查案件,并将发布书面决定。 几周后,移民法官发布了一份长达 13 页的书面裁决,裁定由于客户被定罪的危险性质,他的客户受到了更高的困难标准,但进一步发现满足了更高的困难标准并且客户值得有利的自由裁量权,因此批准了他的豁免不可受理的申请。 七个月后,Chicas 律师的委托人立即获释并与家人团聚!

5月,2015

二零一八年四月:

3月,2015

2月,2015

2月,2015

2014 月,XNUMX

10月,2014

2014 年 XNUMX 月,

四月,2014,

2014 年 XNUMX 月,

01 年 2014 月 XNUMX 日,

 

 

.

滚动到顶部

Immigration Blog

Maryland immigration attorney Immigration Blog

*The results below may not occur in each individual case.

November, 2016

May, 2016

  • Dept. of State Visa Revocations for Nonimmigrant Holders with DUI/DWI Arrests

We have learned that the Dept. of State Visa Office has begun to take a pretty hardline position with regard to noncitizens who are lawfully present in nonimmigrant status, such as F-1 students, H-1B workers, or even B-2 visitors and CHARGED OR ARRESTED with a DUI/DWI. Here is what we learned:

  • The State Dept. Visa office has been recently, in many cases, revoking the nonimmigrant visa of individuals ARRESTED or CHARGED with DUI/DWI offenses (Note that the mere charges or arrest for a DUI/DWI offense is itself sufficient for revocation of a visa, so a charged could be dropped but the visa could still be revoked before the final disposition) of those individuals physically present in the U.S. This is being done via a letter to the nonimmigrant directly from the U.S. State Dept. Visa Office of Screening, Analysis and Coordination.
  • Consular Officers abroad are likewise heavily scrutinizing individuals charged with DUI/DWI offenses in the U.S., whenever an individual returns to a consular post abroad for purposes of renewing a nonimmigrant visa.
  • In both cases, the rationale for the revocation is potential visa ineligibility under a ground of inadmissibility for a possible physical or mental disorder with associated harmful behavior (section 212(a)(1)(A)(iii) of the Immigration and Nationality Act) and once, and if, they need to reapply for the new visa they will then need to be referred to a panel physician for purposes of a new medical clearance in order for them to reissued a visa to reenter.

In light of the above, noncitizens arrested for DUI/DWI offenses and who are in the U.S on a valid nonimmigrant visa (e.g. B-1/B2, F-1, F-2, H-1B, H-2B, H-4, G visas, L visas, etc.) should be aware that:

  • There is a risk of visa revocation simply for having been arrested on a DUI/DWI charge.
  • While the mere revocation of the visa will not necessarily mean that the individuals will fall out of status or be subject to removal proceedings, it will likely mean that once and if they leave they will need to reapply for a new visa and may have to undergo an additional medical clearance before the visa is reissued.
  • Nonimmigrant visa holders are advised NOT TO TRAVEL after a DUI/DWI arrest unless it’s absolutely necessary, while the case is pending.

The above does NOT apply to our permanent resident clients or green card holders.
Please contact our immigration attorney, Himedes Chicas, with any questions at 202.384.2647.

December, 2015

  • Motion to Rescind In Absentia Order of Removal and Reopen Proceedings Granted for Mother and Young Boys Fleeing Persecution.

Attorney Chicas successfully reopened the removal proceedings of a mother and her two young children, all of whom has been previously ordered removed in absentia by an Immigration Judge in Miami. Mr. Chicas’ Clients—a Guatemalan mother of two, along with her two sons, ages 2 and 6 years—fled from Guatemala to the United States after her husband had been brutally killed my MS-13 gang members . After her perilous trip from Guatemala, Attorney Chicas’ Clients were detained at the border by immigration officers and served with a Notices to Appear, formally initiating removal proceedings against them. The mother and children were subsequently released under their own recognizance and relocated to the Miami, Florida area. After securing permission to relocate to the to the Baltimore area and filing a change of address to move, with the local Miami, Florida Department of Homeland Security office, his clients moved to Hyattsville area. Client, who was the unrepresented, made the mistake of believing that her case would be automatically transferred from the Miami Immigration Court to the Baltimore Immigration Court. Several months after relocating to Maryland, she and her children appeared for a hearing at the Baltimore Immigration Court only to find out that her case was actually scheduled in Miami. Client was alarmed and confused when she was told that she and her children had been ordered removed in absentia. Client then consulted with Attorney Chicas. Attorney Chicas sought to rescind the in absentia removal orders and reopen his Client’s case by filing a motion to reopen based on exceptional circumstances that prevented her and the children from appearing in Miami for their hearing. Shortly after the submission of the Clients’ motion, the Immigration Judge in Miami granted the motion, rescinding their in absentia order of removal and reopening proceedings and rescheduled the matter back onto its docket. Attorney Chicas then attended the Clients’ hearing in Miami, and successfully moved to change venue of the case to Baltimore. Attorney Chicas’ Clients are now awaiting for their case to be set for a hearing to pursue asylum and related relief.

December, 2015

  • Proceedings Administratively Closed for Mother Facing Reinstatement of Removal and Her Twelve-Year Old Daughter.

Attorney Himedes Chicas prevailed in administratively closing a case for his client, a Guatemalan National who was subject to a reinstatement of a prior removal order, and her twelve year old daughter. Following the Client’s release from immigration custody on an order of supervision after she was found to have a reasonable fear of persecution by the Asylum Office, her case was referred to the Immigration Court for limited withholding only proceedings. Attorney Chicas argued that his client had suffered past persecution and was more than likely to suffer future persecution and torture in the event of her removal to Guatemala. Indeed, Attorney Chicas’ Client, had suffered extreme persecution and abuse at the hands of a family member and after going through psychological treatment it was established that his client suffered from Post-Traumatic Stress-Disorder. In spite of scant documentary evidence, during the individual hearing, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) agreed that based on the underlying facts of past and future persecution and other equities, the Clients’ cases were low-priority cases and DHS agreed to exercise favorable prosecutorial discretion by administratively closure of the case both for mother and daughter. Though the merits of her withholding claim were not adjudicated by the Immigration Court, the administrative closure result at least ensures that neither Client nor her daughter will be removed from the country. Moreover, her withholding claim remains pending if she will be able to pursue that claim if her removal case is ever recalendared (reactivated).

December, 2015

  • After Seven Long Months, Nicaraguan National is Reunited with his Wife and Children.

After already being in immigration custody for several months and having hired prior counsel, Client’s wife consulted with Attorney Chicas about her husband, a lawful permanent resident who had been detained after appearing to a deferred inspection at Dulles International Airport, where it was determined that he was inadmissible due to crime involving moral turpitude on account of a nearly 15 year old criminal conviction. Given the circumstances of the case and the client’s incarceration, Attorney Chicas focused on obtaining relief from removal for Client. For about two months, Attorney Chicas worked diligently in gathering the evidence, submitting written briefs, and preparing the witnesses needed to prove the hardship his Client’s U.S. citizen wife, children, and mother would suffer if he were removed to his native Nicaragua. During a four and a half hour long individual hearing, Attorney Chicas discussed the reasons why his client was deserving of favorable adjudication for his waiver—including statutory eligibility—in which he discussed the client’s business equities, his extensive family ties in the U.S., and the health related hardship his family was enduring, most significantly the harm that his children would have suffered. At conclusion of testimony, the Immigration Judge stated that he had to fully vet the case and would issue a written decision. After a few weeks, the Immigration Judge issued a 13-page written decision finding that due to the dangerous nature of the Client’s the underlying conviction, his client was subject to a heightened standard for hardship, but further found that the heightened hardship standard was met and that the Client merited favorable discretion and therefore granting his application for a waiver of inadmissibility. After seven long months, Attorney Chicas’ Client was immediately released and reunited with his family!

May, 2015

April, 2015

March, 2015

February, 2015

February, 2015

December, 2014

October, 2014

September, 2014,

July, 2014,

April, 2014,

February, 2014,

January, 01, 2014,